Tom Tugendhat knocked out of Tory leadership race

19 July 2022

Sir Graham Brady announces the candidates through to the fourth ballot in the contest to become the next Conservative party leader

The 1922 committee confirmed that Tom Tugendhat has been knocked out of the race after only receiving 31 votes in the third round of the vote. Kemi Badenoch received 58, Penny Mordaunt got 82, Rishi Sunak got 115 and Liz Truss received 71.